For 50 years or so there was a large veranda, added for the convenience of the parsonage families, but that has now been replaced by an entrance porch in the style of the original one. Windows are still the same size and shape as in 1872, and the original tin roof is intact. The house is a historical gem!
The church building has seen more alteration than the parsonage, and is actually older. It is not the original Lutheran house of worship; the congregation had its first communion service of record (obviously not the first time they had met together) on Aug. 14, 1808, in the Neff Meeting House, and later used a schoolhouse before outgrowing two churches of their own on other sites. When townspeople outnumbered farm families on the rolls, they were happy to accept Jacob Steyer's offer of "the most valuable lot in town'' in 1857.
At first glance, one gets the impression that the building completed in 1863 was different from the one we see today. It had a recessed entrance, a square wooden cupola as a bell tower, and small-paned, clear-glass windows.
There are confusing newspaper accounts that say the building was a total loss in the fire of 1874. Those reports were corrected, later, to say that "only the walls'' were left standing - and those are the walls of the present church.
By the time all the fire damage had been repaired, tastes had changed. Stained glass memorial windows were installed, an entrance vestibule was built, and the congregation tried to keep up with the denominational Joneses by adding a tower and spire, pointing the way to heaven.
More recently, St. Paul's has joined other congregations in the fads for red-painted doors and free-standing bulletin boards. There was serious discussion of tearing down the parsonage to make way for a parking lot. Fortunately, methods of correcting the layout of rooms and assorted plumbing problems were worked out, and an important landmark was saved.