Cumberland Times-News


January 26, 2011

Mineral Board will not renew Hackworth’s contract

— KEYSER, W.Va — After almost a 90-minute executive session Tuesday, the Mineral County Board of Education unanimously voted not to renew Superintendent Tilden “Skip” Hackworth’s four-year contract. His current contract will end on June 30, 2011.

“It is the board’s unanimous decision that the superintendent’s contract will not be renewed and will end June 30, 2011,” said Kevin Watson, president.

Hackworth’s contract was briefly discussed as being on the agenda at last week’s meeting, however, it was not listed on Tuesday night’s agenda and was the the only item discussed after the executive session ended.

None of the board members commented after the decision was handed down, and the meeting was promptly adjourned.

Hackworth took the position of superintendent of Mineral County schools in the summer of 2002.

One year before coming to Mineral County, Hackworth was the executive director of jobs for West Virginia Graduates program. Prior to that, he served as the superintendent of Pleasant County schools from 1998 to 2001, and from 1996 to 1997, he served as the superintendent of Calhoun County schools.

In the items leading up to the executive session, the board addressed Nick Boynovich’s proposal he made last week to institute a student incentive program, which includes rewarding students with money when they achieve good grades, or have good behavior.

“We’ve had this issue several times before,” said board member Terry LaRue, in reference to Boynovich presenting the idea in the past.

LaRue estimated that the program would cost $4.4 million dollars per year, if implemented in every Mineral County school.

“It’s just not something that’s feasible for us,” said Watson, adding that it would be better funded by a large company.

Craig Rotruck, board member, asked Boynovich if he had any children in school, and when Boynovich replied he did not, Rotruck thanked him.

“I’m going to thank you for bringing up ideas,” said Rotruck.

“From what I’ve heard here, I wasted my time,” said Boynovich.

Another issue presented included the termination of several contracts, however the majority of the board agreed that they did not have enough information on the subject and decided to table it until the next meeting.

“This is not something that we can take lightly” said board member Mary Aronhalt, also saying that it’s not only their salaries that will be affected, but that some of the employees would be losing benefits as well.

Emily Newman can be contacted at

Text Only
  • Jim Combs.tiff Fort Hill Hall of Fame inductees honored

    CUMBERLAND — We Are Fort Hill honored the 2013 inductees into the Fort Hill Hall of Fame during a luncheon held recently at the school.
    The 10 inductees are James Combs, class of 1963; George Eskin, 1955; Dr. Roseann Weber Hannon, 1961; John Harden, 1948; Dr. Walter Henry, 1959; Dr. Terri Ott Lally, 1976; J. Frederick Sharer, 1956; Glen Shipway, 1961; Judy Twigg, 1980; Shannon Workman, 1984.

    March 18, 2014 10 Photos

  • Local students earn bachelor's degrees at Frostburg State University

    At the 143rd commencement ceremonies at Frostburg State University in December,many area residents were among the nearly 600 total candidates for degrees.

    February 25, 2014

  • Frostburg State University students named to dean's list

     The following students from the area have been named to the dean’s list at Frostburg State University in recognition of outstanding academic achievement for the fall 2013 semester.

    February 21, 2014

  • Dean's list students at Potomac State College

    KEYSER,     W.Va. — Potomac State College of West Virginia University recently announced that 185 students have been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2013 semester.

    January 13, 2014

  • Potomac State students named to Provost's List

    KEYSER, W.Va. — According to Potomac State College Campus Provost Leonard Colelli, there were 102 students placed on the Provost’s List for the 2013 fall semester at Potomac State College of West Virginia University. To be eligible for the Provost’s List, a student must earn a 3.7 to 4.0 grade point average while maintaining a full-time student status.

    January 13, 2014

  • ACM names 297 to fall dean’s list

    Nearly 300 students were named to the Allegany College of Maryland dean’s list for the fall 2013 semester, according to David M. Hinds, ACM vice president of instructional affairs.

    January 13, 2014

  • Garrett College students named to dean’s list

    MCHENRY — The following full-time students of Garrett College have been named to the dean’s list for the Fall Semester 2013 according to James L. Allen Jr., interim dean of instruction.

    December 18, 2013

  • Frostburg State announces scholarship recipients

    FROSTBURG — Frostburg State University announces the following area students have received scholarships for study at the university.

    July 30, 2013

  • School board moves to bolster school security

    The Allegany County Board of Education voted on Tuesday to approve the School Safety and Security Committee’s recommendation to hire a combination of retired officers and school resource officers to provide additional school security.

    July 9, 2013

  • Students named to spring dean's list at Frostburg State University

    FROSTBURG — The following students from the area have been named to the dean’s list at Frostburg State University in recognition of outstanding academic achievement for the spring 2013 semester.

    July 6, 2013

Latest news
Must Read
House Ads