Cumberland Times-News

January 4, 2014

Contract for wildlife offices could be awarded

Department of Natural Resources to relocate staff to building at Rocky Gap as part of consolidation plan

Matthew Bieniek
Cumberland Times-News

— ROCKY GAP — The state is considering awarding a contract for $499,260 to renovate a building at Rocky Gap State Park that will hold state Department of Natural Resources offices moving from downtown Cumberland as part of a consolidation plan.

“That is specifically for us. A total of about eight staff members ... all within DNR, will be moving there,” said Jim Mullan, Western Regional manager for the Wildlife and Heritage Service. Those making the move also include the Resource and Planning Department, with staff from Program Open Space, which works to preserve rural areas in the state.

 The state Board of Public Works plans to meet Wednesday to consider awarding the contract to low bidder C&M Construction and Renovations LLC of Barton. Bids for the project ranged from their low bid to a bid of $726,198, according to the board’s agenda. The money will renovate the existing two-story Wildlife Offices building, including all plumbing, HVAC, electrical, phone and data cabling systems and their related components, according to board documents.

A performance bond will be required of the contractor. The contract runs for 180 calender days, according to board documents.

“The current plan is for us to move in the fall of 2014,” Mullan said. The Forestry Department will also move to a different building, a former Regional Park Service Office on Pleasant Valley Road, Mullan said.

The offices are currently located at the William Donald Schaefer Building at 3 Pershing St. in downtown Cumberland. Parking spots for access to the Pershing Street location can be difficult to find. The building on Pershing Street is owned by Allegany Museum.

Some offices have already moved to Rocky Gap, including the Licensing Department, where hunting and fishing licenses can be obtained, said Meghan Cadden, manager of the Western Maryland Regional Service Center.

The Board of Public Works includes three members: the governor, the comptroller and the treasurer of Maryland.

Matthew Bieniek can be contacted at Staff writer Michael A. Sawyers contributed to this story.