Cumberland Times-News

June 12, 2013

Ridgeley elects new mayor

From Staff Reports
Cumberland Times-News

— RIDGELEY, W.Va. — The town of Ridgeley will have a new mayor and three new councilmen as a result of Tuesday’s election, according to a complete but unofficial count.

Current Councilman Lynn Carr will be sworn in as mayor July 1 along with new Councilmen Bill Shepherd, Butch Hawse and Dr. Richard Lechliter, and incumbent Councilmen Don McFarland and Mark Jones.

Carr had the most votes for the mayoral seat at 55 with Thomas Hedrick a close second at 52. Incumbent mayor Jim Twigg received 41 votes.

Shepherd had a landslide victory with 111 votes, followed by Hawse, 87; Lechliter, 86; McFarland, 75; and Jones, 72.

Council candidates who were defeated include Jake Ryan, 66 votes; Tanya Ryan, 63; and Dawna Twigg, 36.

Lechliter is also a Mineral County commissioner and has said that he intends to serve in both positions as allowed by the West Virginia Ethics Act because they are both part-time jobs.

Of the approximate 352 registered voters in Ridgeley, 152 cast ballots in Tuesday’s election, according to Town Clerk Renee Martz.

The votes will be canvassed Monday, Martz said.