Cumberland Times-News

June 12, 2013

Ridgeley voters choose new town leaders

Lynn Carr will be sworn in as mayor on July 1

From Staff Reports
Cumberland Times-News

— RIDGELEY, W.Va. — The town of Ridgeley will have a new mayor and three new councilmen as a result of Tuesday’s election, according to a complete but unofficial count.

Current Councilman Lynn Carr will be sworn in as mayor July 1 along with new Councilmen Bill Shepherd, Butch Hawse and Dr. Richard Lechliter, and in-cumbent Councilmen Don McFarland and Mark Jones.

Carr had the most votes for the mayoral seat at 55 with Thomas Hedrick a close second at 52. Incumbent mayor Jim Twigg received 41 votes.

Shepherd had a landslide victory with 111 votes, followed by Hawse, 87; Lechliter, 86; McFarland, 75; and Jones, 72.

Council candidates who were defeated include Jake Ryan, 66 votes; Tanya Ryan, 63; and Dawna Twigg, 36.

Lechliter is also a Mineral County commissioner and has said that he intends to serve in both positions as allowed by the West Virginia Ethics Act because they are both part-time jobs.

Of the approximate 352 registered voters in Ridgeley, 152 cast ballots in Tuesday’s election, according to Town Clerk Renee Martz.

The votes will be canvassed Monday, Martz said.