Cumberland Times-News

Local News

July 7, 2010

Cumberland mayor won’t seek re-election

Election field set as filing deadline passes

Cumberland — CUMBERLAND — Cumberland’s city elections on Nov. 2 will mark the end of Mayor Lee Fiedler’s 10 years in office as he has decided not to run for re-election.

“I’ve been mayor for 10 years and I feel like I’d like to see some younger people step in and take over,” said Fiedler. “I’d be glad to work with them and do what they want but it’s time to move on.”

Fiedler said he doesn’t plan on running for political office again in the future.

Cumberland’s mayoral race will not require a primary election. Three candidates filed by Tuesday’s 9 p.m. deadline: Herb Broll, Brian K. Grim and Carol Taccino.

Nine people have filed for the three open city council seats, which will require a primary election to determine which six candidates will proceed to the general election. Candidates include: John M. Davis, Pete Elliott, Butch Hendershot, David F. Kauffman, Albert Keener, Gary L. Logan, Nicholas Scarpelli, Carey A. Walker and Tim Wiseman.

On the county level, 14 candidates have filed for the three open county commissioner seats, including Democrats Rick Atkinson, Bill DuVall, Ed Hedrick, Victor Fredrick Merkel, Jim Stakem (incumbent) and Tom Striplin and Republicans Creade Brodie Jr., Bob Hutcheson (incumbent), Dale R. Lewis (incumbent), Mike McKay, Thomas D. McNemar Jr., Bill Valentine, Mike Wade and Champ Zumbrun.

There are four candidates in the race for sheriff, including Democrat David A. Goad and Republicans Fred Fadley, Don Raley and Craig Robertson.

There are six non-partisan candidates for four Board of Education seats: Jeffrey Brian Hedrick, Sara-Beth James, Mike Llewellyn, Laurie Peskin Marchini, Edward L. Root and Karen A. Treber.

On the state level, George C. Edwards is running unopposed for District 1 State Senate.

Democrat James R. Stanton and Republican Wendell R. Beitzel (incumbent) are competing for District 1A House of Delegates.

Democrats Kevin Kelly (incumbent) and Kevin M. Shaffer and Republicans Mark A. Fisher and Mary Beth Pirolozzi are competing for the District 1B House of Delegates seat.

The two candidates for the District 1C House of Delegates race are Democrat Ronald Lohr and incumbent Republican LeRoy E. Myers.

Primary elections for Cumberland’s city council and the county and state elections will take place Sept. 14 while early voting begins Sept. 3. The general election is Nov. 2 and early voting begins Oct. 26.

Cory Galliher can be reached at

Text Only
Local News
  • House of cards House of cards

    Sixth-graders James Patalinghug, left, and Nina Cutter build a multilevel tower out of index cards Tuesday afternoon at Washington Middle School. The activity was part of a science, technology, engineering, math, known as STEM, lesson designed to teach students about load distribution, friction and gravity.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • CORY ORNDORFF Green Spring man sentenced to 40 years for toddler’s death

    ROMNEY, W.Va. — Hampshire County Circuit Court Judge H. Charles Carl III sentenced 22-year-old Cory A. Orndorff of Green Spring to 40 years in prison for one count of child abuse resulting in the death of an 18-month-old child Wednesday morning.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Glen Bell, a public information officer 900-acre Bear Den wildfire 70 percent contained

    CENTERVILLE, Pa. — A 900-acre wildfire on Wills Mountain in Bedford County was said Wednesday to be “the largest fire in Pennsylvania this spring season,” according to Cecile Stelter, Pennsylvania Bureau of Forestry public information officer.
    The fire that was reportedly situated mostly on state game lands began Saturday at about 2 p.m., with initial firefighting efforts handled by the Cumberland Valley Township Volunteer Fire Department at Centerville.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • System to provide firefighters quick access could be required in new Mineral businesses

    KEYSER, W.Va. — The Mineral County Commission agreed to look into the possibility of implementing an ordinance that would require new commercial businesses to install a KNOX-BOX Rapid Entry System.

    April 23, 2014

  • Puff & Stuff owners agree to settlement over claims they sold synthetic drugs

    CUMBERLAND — Charles and Traci Casey, owners of Puff & Stuff stores in Cumberland and LaVale, have agreed to forfeit $173,988.61, to settle claims that they sold synthetic drugs at their stores.

    April 23, 2014

  • Mall maulers

    Chad Trail, Rick Ryan, Mike Lawrence and Rusty Pyles, Cumberland Street Department employees, work on replacing the concrete strips that run between the bricks on the Downtown Cumberland Mall between Centre and Liberty streets.

    April 23, 2014

  • CHARLES  SEVERANCE W.Va. judge orders Severance extradited to Virginia

    WHEELING, W.Va. (AP) — A man wanted for questioning in relation to three unsolved slayings in Alexandria, Va., in the past decade should be extradited to Virginia on an unrelated weapons charge, a West Virginia judge ruled Wednesday.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Keyser man faces charges in Easter incident

    KEYSER, W.Va. — Mineral County Prosecuting Attorney Jay Courrier is faced with deciding whether to charge a Keyser man with disturbing a religious worship.

    April 23, 2014

  • 43-year-old receives prison time for molesting his niece

    CUMBERLAND — A 43-year-old city man was sentenced Wednesday to a 10-year prison term for the sexual assault of a 5-year-old girl, according to the Office of the State’s Attorney for Allegany County.

    April 23, 2014

  • ISAAC SPONAUGLE Isaac Sponaugle seeking re-election to West Virginia House of Delegates

    FRANKLIN, W.Va. — Del. Isaac Sponaugle of Franklin announced recently that he will seek re-election to the West Virginia House of Delegates for the 55th District. Sponaugle will be seeking his second term as delegate after having been first elected in 2012.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo