Cumberland Times-News

September 23, 2013

Incumbent delegates, senator file for re-election

Matthew Bieniek
Cumberland Times-News

— CUMBERLAND — The number of local incumbents filing for re-election in 2014 continues to grow, with Delegates Wendell Beitzel and Kevin Kelly hoping to retain their posts.

Kelly, a conservative Democrat, represents District 1B, and Beitzel, a Republican, District 1A in the General Assembly. Kelly’s district includes much of the city of Cumberland and Rocky Gap, while Beitzel’s includes all of Garrett County and part of western Allegany County. Kelly filed on Sept. 3, Beitzel on Aug. 27.

Incumbent Republican state Sen. George Edwards filed Sept. 12. Edwards represents all of Garrett and Allegany counties and part of Washington County.

Filing earlier was incumbent Allegany County Sheriff Craig Robertson, who will be seeking a second term.

In Garrett County, incumbent Commissioner Jim Raley has filed for re-election, as have incumbents Sheriff Robert E. Corley and Register of Wills Rita L. Watson. All three are Republicans.

The Allegany County Commission race is one of two locally where non-incumbents have filed. Orphan’s Court Judge Mark L. Widmyer, a Republican, filed for the job on Aug. 7, two days after Democrat Tom Striplin filed for a commission seat.

One incumbent commissioner, Michael McKay, has filed to run for the District 1C delegate seat and has withdrawn from the county commission contest. Incumbents Creade Brodie Jr. and Bill Valentine have filed for re-election. All three incumbents are Republicans.

The District 1C seat is currently held by Delegate LeRoy Myers Jr., who is not seeking re-election.

Ray Givens of Hancock, a Republican residing in Washington County, has also announced he is running for the 1C seat and has filed for the office.

Candidate filings were moved up for the 2014 election because of changes in state law and candidates were able to file beginning April 9 this year.

The last day for candidates to file for the 2014 primary is Feb. 25 of that year.

The 2014 primary election is set for June 24, with the General Election Nov. 4. Early voting for the primary begins June 12.

Contact Matthew Bieniek at