Cumberland Times-News

Local News

October 17, 2013

Garrett County Marcellus shale advisory committee reinstated

OAKLAND — A majority of the members who were on Garrett County’s Marcellus Shale Natural Gas Advisory Committee were reappointed to the committee during a county commissioners meeting Tuesday.

In February, the commission decided to discontinue meetings of the committee until the state completed the best practices management report. The intention of bringing the committee back together was to make it more citizen-based, according to Jim Raley, commissioner.

“We thought it was best to start the committee and use the same approach that we used with the Watershed Steering Committee trying to get the citizens involved,” said commission chairman Robert Gatto.  

There were 21 applicants for the committee and the commission narrowed it down to 11. John Quilty was named chairman. Additional members include Marshall Stacy,  James “Smokey” Stanton, Nicole Christian, Shawn Bender, Dawn Beitzel, Paul Shogren, Kevin Dodge, Joyce Bishoff, Eric Robison and Nadine Grabania.

“It shows that it is a very important issue here in Garrett County when 21 people express an interest in participating,” said Raley.

Members will meet Nov. 5 to discuss the charges of the committee and how often meetings will occur.

Raley, who serves on the state Marcellus Shale Advisory Commission, noted that he wants the citizens on the local committee to voice their opinions on how they feel about shale gas. He said that it was impossible to pick someone who has a neutral position on Marcellus shale drilling.

“We pretty much know that we all want it done right, that we all want it done safely and some of us don’t want it done at all,” said Raley. “The citizen-based committee has some real merit because what it does is it gives a broad range of citizens with varying viewpoints from various sectors of the county the ability to chime in and at least look at the research that is out there now.”

Commissioner Gregan Crawford said that the committee has a big task ahead of it.

Also during Tuesday’s meeting, the commission appointed six members to the Airport Advisory Commission. Everyone who applied has some background in aviation and all who applied were selected, according to Gatto. The members include Robert Browning, Jason Snyder, Andrew Kalnoske, DeCorsey Bolden, John Hermann, Cynthia Sharon, department of economic development staff and Gatto.

“It’s a good committee; it’s going to be under the direction of Ed Kelley, our Garrett County Airport manager,” said Gatto. “It’s going to look at the purpose of the airport and the master plan moving forward.”

Four people submitted their names to serve the remaining term of Donald Forrester, who retired from the board of education effective Sept. 30: Sadie Liller, Matthew Paugh, Charles Wilt and Joseph DeMucci.

The commissioners will conduct interviews Oct. 21 and the appointment will be announced during the Nov. 5 commission meeting so that the appointee can attend the Nov. 12 board meeting. Gatto stressed the importance of attending the board meeting because of the facilities study and funding issues that the board is facing.

Also during the meeting, Ernie Gregg received the 2013 Tri-County Council Chairman’s Award. Gregg was both a county commissioner and served on the board of directors for the TCC for 24 years. He also served on the TCC Revolving Loan Fund Committee for 17 years.

Contact Elaine Blaisdell at

Text Only
Local News
  • Cemetery group’s efforts revive Oak Hill grounds Cemetery group’s efforts revive Oak Hill grounds

    After you drive Alexander and Furnace streets then navigate a couple of switchbacks on Cemetery Road, you’d figure there would be no more uphill.

    April 17, 2014 2 Photos

  • Proposed county budget holds most agencies flat

    After taking into account an income tax shortfall, Allegany County Finance Director Jason Bennett said he’ll propose a budget that holds most outside agencies to flat funding and funds the Board of Education at what county officials say are maintenence of effort levels for 2015.

    April 17, 2014

  • RYAN WOLF Wolf named 2014-15 Garrett Teacher of the Year

    Southern Garrett High School teacher Ryan Wolf has been named the 2014-15 Garrett County Teacher of the Year.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rep. Delaney discusses congressional gridlock Rep. Delaney discusses congressional gridlock

    While giving a civics lesson at Frostburg State University on Thursday, U.S. Rep. John Delaney, congressman from Maryland’s sixth district, told students that the polarization in Congress is due primarily to redistricting and a poorly designed Congressional schedule.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Fourmile Ridge wind project approved, moves forward

    The Federal Aviation Administration has approved the Fourmile Ridge wind project in eastern Garrett County and site preparation started April 7, according to Frank Maisano, a wind industry spokesman. The current notice listed on the FAA website for the project is for a small change in turbine location.

    April 17, 2014

  • Oakland back to normal after toppled tanker closes business district

    The town of Oakland returned to normal activities Thursday, one day after a tanker full of liquid propane overturned in the heart of the business district.
    Shortly after 8 p.m. Wednesday the toppled tanker was removed and its 10,000-gallon load transferred to another tanker.

    April 17, 2014

  • Students back Southern Middle School renovation

    Students from both Southern and Northern middle schools presented a list of reasons why Southern Middle needs to be renovated during the Garrett County Commission meeting Tuesday.

    April 17, 2014

  • Trial run Trial run

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 72nd anniversary of Doolittle Raid on Tokyo 72nd anniversary of Doolittle Raid on Tokyo

    Friday, April 18, has another special meaning for me besides Good Friday.
    April 18, 1942, proved to be a pivotal day for American morale, following the deadly air attack and destruction conceived and executed by Japanese Adm. Isoroku Yamamoto.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lara Courrier seeks re-appointment to Mineral school board

    I, Lara Courrier, am seeking re-election to the Mineral County Board of Education to continue the work I’ve done the last four years. Having served as a school counselor at the Burlington Center School and the Chick Buckbee Juvenile Center for nearly six years, as well as approximately 20 years total working with children, I have insight into the needs of kids and the importance of the actions of the school board. Having three sons and several nieces and nephews in Mineral County schools, I have an added incentive to continue to work hard to ensure the efficient running of our school system. 

    April 17, 2014

Must Read
News related video