Cumberland Times-News

Local News

May 6, 2010

Allegany County school system recognizes top seniors

CUMBERLAND — Seventy-eight Allegany County high school seniors were honored Monday at the 27th Annual Achievement Awards banquet held in the multi-purpose building at the Allegany County Fairgrounds.

The event recognizes senior students in the Allegany County Public School System who are in the top 12 percent of their classes in academic excellence, who have made special accomplishments in the arts and who demonstrate superior leadership qualities. 

Of the 78 students, 35 have chosen to continue their education locally at either Allegany College of Maryland or Frostburg State University. 

Other colleges, universities and technical schools that these graduates are planning to attend include Clemson University, University of Maryland, George Washington University, Shippensburg University, Carnegie Mellon University, Montana State University, Susquehanna University, Georgetown University, Potomac State College, Penn Tech College, Wyotech Institute, Robert C. Byrd Institute, West Virginia University, Shenandoah University, McDaniel College, University of Tennessee, University of Maryland Baltimore County, Bowie State University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy and Alderson Broaddus College.  

NewPage Corporation and the Western Maryland Health System co-sponsored the event. The members of the banquet planning committee who worked to organize the program include Nil Grove, chairman; Michael Calhoun, Vickie Crowe, Mia Perlozzo Cross, Kim Green, Teri Lavin, and Jay Walbert. Tom Harrison provided the music for the evening’s events, and Frostburg State University catered the sit-down dinner. Larry Negley, Debbie Lewis and Peggy Elder of the Center for Career and Technical Education’s printing department also assisted with the event.

David Cox, superintendent of schools, opened the event with a welcome address to all students, parents and special guests in attendance and gave closing remarks.

Karen Treber, school board president, served as the master of ceremonies, while Tom Striplin, school board vice president, offered a tribute.  School board member, Sara-Beth James introduced the evening’s special guests. High school principals introduced each of the students below as they received recognition for their accomplishments.   

Allegany High School: Ryan Alderson, Nicholas Amick, Kelly Baker, Amber Beckman, Zachary Bosley, Emily Creegan, Megan DeWitt, Nathan George, Jeremy Knipple, Christopher Logsdon, Hilary Lyons, Ryan Marchini, Sarah Marean, Stephen Nelson, Michael Powell, Ryan Smith, Cody Toothaker, Joshua Troft, Olivia Umpierre, Morgan Walbert and Dustin Wharton.

Center for Career and Technical Education: Justin Acker, Alyssa Butler, Shawnee Coleman, Timothy Cross, Chad Graham, Hayley Hanlin, Tyler Inskeep, Noel Jenkins, Shelby Logsdon, Cameron Michaels, Kari Myers, Carissa Preston, Erika Rae, Brittney Redhead, Jodi Rose, Rachael Shockey, Zack Snider, Damon Stevens and Billie Jean Weems.

Fort Hill High School: Benjamin Brown, Jessica Currence, William Evans, Brandon Foor, Hannah Graham, Kathryn Huber, Madeline Jackowski, Daniel Johnson, Timothy Kelly, Adria Lewis, Hillary Liedy, Jessie Mackert, Chelsea Rankin, Samantha Shipway, Alexis Stevens, Zachary Watkins, Jaclyn Wolf and Bethany Yurko.

Mountain Ridge High School: Chelsea Bender, Benjamin Brackett, Nicholas Bray Jr., Chase Clark, Ryan Delaney, Christian Eberly, Courtney Jacobs, Jacklyn Jeffries, Cady Kirkwood, Amanda Lehmann, Steven Moon, Stephen Neilson, Alissa Perske, Erin Radcliffe, Danielle Rose, Christopher Sowers, Alexander Stevens, Tristan Stevens, Janelle Walbert and Brodie Witt. 


Text Only
Local News
  • Cemetery group’s efforts revive Oak Hill grounds Cemetery group’s efforts revive Oak Hill grounds

    After you drive Alexander and Furnace streets then navigate a couple of switchbacks on Cemetery Road, you’d figure there would be no more uphill.

    April 17, 2014 2 Photos

  • Proposed county budget holds most agencies flat

    After taking into account an income tax shortfall, Allegany County Finance Director Jason Bennett said he’ll propose a budget that holds most outside agencies to flat funding and funds the Board of Education at what county officials say are maintenence of effort levels for 2015.

    April 17, 2014

  • RYAN WOLF Wolf named 2014-15 Garrett Teacher of the Year

    Southern Garrett High School teacher Ryan Wolf has been named the 2014-15 Garrett County Teacher of the Year.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rep. Delaney discusses congressional gridlock Rep. Delaney discusses congressional gridlock

    While giving a civics lesson at Frostburg State University on Thursday, U.S. Rep. John Delaney, congressman from Maryland’s sixth district, told students that the polarization in Congress is due primarily to redistricting and a poorly designed Congressional schedule.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Fourmile Ridge wind project approved, moves forward

    The Federal Aviation Administration has approved the Fourmile Ridge wind project in eastern Garrett County and site preparation started April 7, according to Frank Maisano, a wind industry spokesman. The current notice listed on the FAA website for the project is for a small change in turbine location.

    April 17, 2014

  • Oakland back to normal after toppled tanker closes business district

    The town of Oakland returned to normal activities Thursday, one day after a tanker full of liquid propane overturned in the heart of the business district.
    Shortly after 8 p.m. Wednesday the toppled tanker was removed and its 10,000-gallon load transferred to another tanker.

    April 17, 2014

  • Students back Southern Middle School renovation

    Students from both Southern and Northern middle schools presented a list of reasons why Southern Middle needs to be renovated during the Garrett County Commission meeting Tuesday.

    April 17, 2014

  • Trial run Trial run

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 72nd anniversary of Doolittle Raid on Tokyo 72nd anniversary of Doolittle Raid on Tokyo

    Friday, April 18, has another special meaning for me besides Good Friday.
    April 18, 1942, proved to be a pivotal day for American morale, following the deadly air attack and destruction conceived and executed by Japanese Adm. Isoroku Yamamoto.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lara Courrier seeks re-appointment to Mineral school board

    I, Lara Courrier, am seeking re-election to the Mineral County Board of Education to continue the work I’ve done the last four years. Having served as a school counselor at the Burlington Center School and the Chick Buckbee Juvenile Center for nearly six years, as well as approximately 20 years total working with children, I have insight into the needs of kids and the importance of the actions of the school board. Having three sons and several nieces and nephews in Mineral County schools, I have an added incentive to continue to work hard to ensure the efficient running of our school system. 

    April 17, 2014