Cumberland Times-News

February 1, 2014

19 Md. natural resources police officers graduate

Cumberland Times-News

— ARNOLD — The ranks of the

Maryland Natural Resources Police

grew by 19 with the graduation on

Jan. 24 of the latest class of recruits.

The new officers took their oath,

administered by Col. George F. Johnson

IV, NRP superintendent, at Anne

Arundel Community College before a

large audience of family and friends.

“Protecting Maryland’s bounty for

our children and their children is the

responsibility of every citizen. But I

want to thank you for stepping up in a

very personal way to carry that

responsibility for all Marylanders,”

said Gov. Martin O’Malley in a prerecorded


The new officers received 30 weeks

of classroom and field training at the

Maryland Police and Correctional

Training Center in Sykesville and on

waterways and public lands throughout

the state. Their studies included

not only general law enforcement

functions but also the special skills

needs for conservation law enforcement.

In his remarks, Johnson reminded

NRP’s 55th Basic Recruit Class to

adhere to the four core principles of

the agency: Integrity, Dedication,

Courtesy and Professionalism.

“Always remember your oath and

hold tightly to your ethical compass,”

Johnson said. “Never forget that

right is right, even if no one else is

doing it. Wrong is wrong, even if

everyone else is doing it.”

Chief David B. Mitchell, director of

public safety at the University of

Maryland and retired Maryland

State Police superintendent, gave

the keynote address.

The 19 new officers are:

Laura M. Albrecht, Belvidere, N.J.;

Cory G. Armes, Phoenix; Vincent J.

Artrip, Ocean City; Kimberly A.

Austin, Bowie; Andrew S. Blickenstaff,

Clear Spring; Brandon W.

Davis, Galena; Maureen C. Ferguson,

Berlin; Michael Godack,

Annapolis; Robert F. Karge Jr., Preston;

Jason S. Kreider, Newville, Pa.;

Ethan T. Leonard, Port Republic;

Cody L. Linton, Boonsboro; Heshimu

McCray, Owings Mills; Erica J. Minnick,

Smithsburg; Matthew J. Moffitt,

Street; Amelia K. Nelson, Centreville;

Morgan R. Phelps, Kent Island;

Sean A Wiles, Knoxville; Franklin L.

Wright, Princess Anne.

Minnick and Ferguson delivered

the class address.

Blickenstaff, Linton and Minnick

are assigned to Garrett/Allegany


Seven class members were recognized

for outstanding achievement

during the academy, which began

last June:

Brandon Davis, Excellence in

Leadership; Sean Wiles, Excellence

in Academic Achievement; Robert

Karge Jr., Excellence in Firearms

(Top Gun); Matthew Moffitt, Excellence

in Navigation and Seamanship;

Andrew Blickenstaff, Excellence in

Woodland Operations; Maureen Ferguson

and Vincent Artrip, Excellence

in Physical Training.