PAW PAW - The 101st commencement ceremony was held in the Paw Paw High School gymnasium.

Seventeen students graduated from Paw Paw High School in the class of 2006. Ten of the students are intending to attend college: Jeffrey Crabtree, Kayla Fishel, Rochelle Kenney, Kenny Kerns, Carly Kidwell, Crista Mann, Shane McDonald, Skylee Roach, Rebecca Spencer, and Zach Wilson.

Josh Stangle will be attending James Rumsey Technical Institute. Bobby Heath, Cory Ryan, and Joey Watkins will be joining the armed services, and Leah Decker, Derek Keller, and Samantha Stotler will be entering the work force.

Cindy Lease, Paw Paw Schools' secretary, played the prelude, processional, and recessional on the piano. Michelle Fleming, principal, greeted the guests, introduced the co-valedictorians, salutatorian, presented the diplomas, and presented the class of 2006.

Crista Mann welcomed the guests. David Brown performed the invocation and benediction. Kayla Fishel introduced the guest speaker, first grade teacher, Staci Hutchinson. Counselor David J. Brown presented the awards and scholarships. Julie Kidwell presented a slide show of the graduates.

Class colors are red and silver, the flower is a lily and the motto is "A candle throws its light into the darkness, in a nasty world so shine a good deed. Make sure the fortune that you seek is the fortune that you need." Marshals were Cindy Cline and T. J. Holliday and ushers were Dustin Rowzee and Cindy Cline of the junior class.

Co-valedictorians Carly Kidwell and Shane McDonald received the valedictorian trophy, Paw Paw American Legion Ladies Auxiliary Valedictorian Award, Presidential Education Award, Senator Robert Byrd Valedictorian Award, and Top of the Mountain Academic Excellence in the Mountain State. Kidwell also received the Outstanding Citizenship, Outstanding Leadership, and Best All-Around Student Awards. She received the John Phillips Sousa Award, Morgan County Student Aid, Paw Paw Alumni, Promise, and WVU Valedictorian Scholarships and the Outstanding Senior Band Award.

Shane McDonald received the Droze Zembower Memorial Award.

Kayla Fishel received the salutatorian trophy, Paw Paw American Legion Auxiliary Salutatorian Award, Paw Paw Lions Club, Paw Paw, Henry W. Miller, PTO, Paw Paw Alumni, Allegany College of Maryland Presidential, and Morgan County Student Aid Fund Scholarships.

Leah Decker received the Roy Kline Memorial Award. Jeff Crabtree received the Paw Paw American Legion Citizenship Award. The Evonne Chamberlain Memorial Award and Paw Paw Alumni Scholarship went to Rebecca Spencer. Skylee Roach received the Margaret Zembower Post Secondary Award. Josh Stangle received the James Rumsey Administrative Council Scholarship. And Zach Wilson received the Citizens' National Bank Employees Scholarship.

React to this story:



This Week's Circulars