Checkered Flag Auto Race Racing
Cumberland Times-News

CUMBERLAND — Mike Shoemaker outpaced D.J. Troutman to victory lane for his first win of the season on Saturday night at The Rock, Allegany County Speedway.

Jarrett Walker joined the feature winner’s list for the Street Stocks, cashing in by leading the distance. Three other drivers returned to victory lane, including a second-straight win for Ryan Peer. Marcius VanMeter and Wade Peer added another victory to their 2009 totals.

Shoemaker prevailed over a caution-filled opening half of the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature. Troutman had to settle for second after first coming up empty on the six restarts and ending a couple of car lengths behind Shoemaker in the final turns.

At the outset, Shoemaker took the lead over pole-sitter Brandon Hoover while Troutman raced into second. Behind, spins and restarts kept the field jockeying for positions in the top 10.

The final caution came on lap seven and Shoemaker began to drive away from Troutman until the final four laps.

Darrell Dick finished third after Matt Sponaugle pulled off the track at halfway. Hoover fell to sixth early but made up two spots and finished fourth over Rance Garlock. Last week’s winner, Tim Smith Jr., recovered from a spin early to get back to sixth.

Walker won the 16-lap Street Stock feature by four car lengths as Mike Desch trailed him throughout the race. Daryl Whetstone, John Whitfield and Kevin Deremer completed the top five.

The runner-up finish was Desch’s third of the season. The current points leader held off Whetstone in the final turns. Whetstone got to Desch’s bumper after getting by Deremer for fourth on lap six and taking third from Whitfield.

VanMeter got the lead away from R.T. Troutman coming out of turn four on lap one and cruised to victory by over two seconds. Troutman was the runner-up and Justin Michael, Jimmy Moreland and Jimmy Sacco filled in the remainder of the top five.

VanMeter was already well ahead of Troutman when a crash in turn one mixed up the race for third and fourth place. Moreland and Kevin Brown made contact in turn one on lap 10. Mike Duck was also collected and Sacco had to take evasive action to miss the wreckage.

All drivers continued after the wreck and Michael eventually took third from Moreland while Duck and Brown ended up sixth and seventh, respectively.

Ryan Peer won for the fourth time in five events, taking the checkered ahead of Randy Peer and Nick Iski in the Factory Stock 4-Cylinder feature.

Ryan came from seventh to get around Iski on lap four and Randy for the lead after a restart on lap five. He went on to win by seven car lengths under a light sprinkle of rain.

Randy and Iski swapped the second spot in the laps after the restart. Mark Seiler was in contention for much of the race and ended up fourth. Brandon Inglish got by Steve Settle for fifth.

Wade Peer got his second 6/8-Cylinder feature win by making the winning pass on the high side of Gary Breeden on the fourth lap of the 12-lap feature. Breeden ended up second but fell nearly a half straightaway behind Peer at the finish.

Ray Shepherd finished third. Brian Ringer and Jamie Mills completed the top five.

Next Saturday is Auto Racing Club of Hagerstown (ARCH) night. The Limited Late Models, Street Stocks, Hobby Stocks and Factory Stock classes will be in action starting at 7 p.m.

For more information, including a complete schedule of events, visit the speedway’s web site at

React to this story:



This Week's Circulars