CUMBERLAND — Daniel Cornman was among seven different winners as the regular season came to a conclusion on Saturday night at The Rock, Allegany County Speedway.

Cornman won the Limited Late Model race and Chris Chamberlain won the Street Stock event. Marcius and Mike VanMeter split the Hobby Stock features. Ryan Peer and Nick Iski won the 4-Cylinder events and Gary Proctor was the 6/8-Cylinder winner.

Track champions determined by the final races are Matt Sponaugle (Limited Late Model), Mike Desch (Street Stock), Marcius VanMeter (Hobby Stock) and DacRon Powell (4-Cylinder). The final 6/8-Cylinder feature was rained out and the outcome has yet to be determined for the championship.

Cornman took over the lead with four laps to go when Sponaugle was forced to pit with a flat tire. Sponaugle had led since taking the lead from pole-sitter Chris Harr after the first lap. Cornman was running second since the second lap but trailed Sponaugle by two seconds when the final caution came on lap 16.

When the race went green again, Cornman held on over Mike Altobelli Jr., Harr, Matt Cosner and Corey Weaver. The win was the second this season for Cornman.

Chamberlain emerged with the lead after a close battle with Bob Jay, John Whitfield and Daryl Whetstone on lap six in the Street Stock feature. Jay led Whetstone and Whitfield in the first lap. Chamberlain came from seventh to get to third.

The highlights of the race came on laps three through six, as Chamberlain caught the lead group and raced Jay and Whitfield three-wide into turn three. Whitfield and Chamberlain both got by Jay and Chamberlain was in the lead for good off of turn four by lap six.

Whitfield, Whetstone and Jay finished second through fourth. Desch clinched the championship with fifth place.

Marcius VanMeter got the lead when Mike VanMeter spun and Justin Michael’s car was damaged after the first lap in the early Hobby Stock feature.

Marcius led by three seconds at one point but a late caution kept the race close.

Mike VanMeter recovered to finish second, four car lengths behind Marcius, who won for the fourth time, at the finish. Jarrod Brown, David Riley and Bill VanMeter completed the top five.

Mike VanMeter won for the second time by holding off Marcius in the second race by two car lengths at the finish. Mike took the lead from

Bill VanMeter on the third lap and Marcius followed to second shortly thereafter.

Mike kept the lead over Marcius through two cautions and a couple of challenges late in the race. Bill VanMeter was third while R.T. Troutman and David Riley completed the top five.

Peer won the first 4-Cylinder feature by taking the lead on lap five and rolling to victory over Mike Lewis, Steve Riggleman, Brandon Inglish and Neil Bauer Jr. Iski led until lap five when Peer got around in turn three. Iski’s was forced to the pits afterward and Lewis took over second.

Iski came back to win the second, rain-shortened feature. The win was his first of the season. He started on the outside front row and led until lap five. Inglish was on the move and grabbed the lead but had to settle for second as Iski got around on the next lap and the rain hit two laps later.

Bauer, Ray Wright and Riggleman finished third through fifth. Powell became the champion with a seventh-place finish.

Proctor was declared the winner after the top two drivers were disqualified after the race. Jamie Mills and Ray Shepherd had a good battle going that ended with Mills taking the checkered flag by seven car lengths.

Proctor was third before the post-race announcement. After the positions were adjusted, Danny Holmes, Brian Ringer, Dustin Proctor and Joe Rodgers completed the top five. Ringer assumed the point lead.

React to this story:



This Week's Circulars