Heisman officials: No winner for 2005

NEW YORK (AP) — And the Heisman Trophy winner for 2005 is — no one.

Rather than replace Reggie Bush, who returned his trophy after a scandal erupted, the officials who administer the award decided it would remain vacant for that year.

There was some initial talk that the trophy might go to former Texas quarterback Vince Young, who finished a distant second to Bush in the voting.

However, Heisman Trust President William Dockery told The Associated Press in a telephone interview Wednesday that the eight trustees never decided to take the trophy away from Bush nor did they receive any advance notice of Bush’s decision.

“We’re certainly not upset Reggie resolved the issue,” he said.

Before the meeting started, Bush announced he would make the unprecedented move of forfeiting the Heisman he won while starring at running back for Southern California. In June, after a four-year investigation, the NCAA ruled Bush was ineligible for the 2005 season for receiving improper benefits.

Players are required to be in good standing with the NCAA to be eligible for college football’s highest honor.


Fore Sisters MGA play continues

RAWLINGS — The team of Shawn Carpenter, Larry Yommer, Ed Baldwin and Larry Lohmeier teamed for a net 109 to win the Men’s Golf Association two best-ball Wednesday at the Fore Sisters Golf Club.

Second, at 110, were Roy Kennell, Gary Bradfield, George Schoenadel and Art Witt. Closest to the pins were Tony Williams on No. 4 and No. 15, Skip Sweene on No. 7, Dave Korns on No. 9, Rick Shaffer on No. 11, and Al James on No. 18.


Cumberland CC holds Shop Game

CUMBERLAND — Mickey Robinson’s 67 was low net in the Shop Game Wednesday at Cumberland Country Club.

Ron Monahan was second at 68, while Terry Boggs and Steve Friend tied for third with 69s. Dr. Jim Snodgrass and Randy Kammauf had low gross with a 78.

Pin winners were Friend (No. 6, No. 18), Snodgrass (No. 12) and Monahan (No. 15).


Pinewackers play decided by one stroke

KEYSER, W.Va. — Larry Bookwalter, John Dean, William Ack and Gene Chiaverini shot a 58 to finish first in the Pinewackers outing on Wednesday.

Chuck Davis, Lee Garland, Paul Kelly and Bill Hartman were second at 59. Pin winners were Davis (No. 2), Gary Hendrickson (No. 4), Dan Sears (No. 6) and Curtis Clary (No. 8).


Maplehurst women hold Tuesday outing

FROSTBURG — Janice Walker was the net winner of the Delores Skin Care Award at the Maplehurst Country Club on Tuesday.

Low gross winners were Nancy Crawley (championship flight), Tess Wilson (first flight) and Lois Handley (second flight). Sandy Hiser (championship), Margie Nelson (first flight) and Sue McLuckie (second flight) were low net winners. The Pro’s Award will be held next Tuesday with a sign-up deadline of Sunday at 3 p.m.


Grasshoppers visit Mill Creek

BURLINGTON, W.Va. — Dale Burgess, Bob Reeves, Don Shriner and Rich Towers shot a 62 to win the Western Maryland Grasshoppers shamble at Mill Creek Country Club.

Second place went to Earl Clark, Ed Mickey, Frank Shepherd and Tim Snyder with a 64. Al Witt, Glenn Miller, Rick Snyder and Tom Krogel won third in a cardoff at 65. Pin winners were Walt Simpson (No. 3), Ebb Spiker (No. 4), John Kady (No. 8), Ben Fout (No. 12), John Ralston (No. 13), Reeves (No. 17). Reeves had the low individual with a 65.

The next outing will be Tuesday at Rocky Gap. There will be a 9 a.m. shotgun start, and players must be at the course no later than 8:30. Players must call Shepherd at 304-738-1559 no later than 7 p.m. on Sunday to sign-up.


Valley View seniors play continues

MOOREFIELD, W.Va. — The team of Glen Spaid, Sam Riley, Ron Brill and Jerry Bartley scored a 12-under par to win the Valley View Seniors outing on Wednesday.

Carl Kreyenbuhl, Doug Veach, Tom Fraley and Hurly Reed won second in a cardoff at 10-under, with Carroll Link, Warden Hott, Richard Cooper and Ron Personett finishing third. Dave Boland, Ed Moser, Bob Toothman, Hott and Dwane Barr were pin winners.


Mill Creek MGA holds scramble

BURLINGTON, W.Va. — The team of Paul Carr, Dan Shrout II, Dan Shrout and Troy Kesner finished with a 27 to win the MGA scramble at Mill Creek Country Club.

At 29, Tom Campbell, Joe Hill, Wayne Rice and Joe Alkire finished second. Pin winners were Zane Burgess Jr. (No. 3), Pot Coleman (No. 4) and Alkire (No. 8).

FH cross country plans Spirit Night

CUMBERLAND — The Fort Hill boys and girls cross country teams will be holding a Spirit Night on Tuesday at Cumberland Chick-fil-A from 5 p.m. until 8 p.m.

React to this story:



This Week's Circulars