Airport autocross course designer Mark Boggs (left) discusses the Sunday layout with Modified class drivers John Felten and Sean Korseko (right) as 179 entries attended the first leg of the six-event Miller Lite Cumberland Airport Autocross Series, which will resume June 6-8 at the Cumberland Historics.

WILEY FORD, W.Va. - National Road Autosport's annual May Icebreaker Autocross usually features "something old and something new" as Mid-Atlantic sports car time trial enthusiasts test their off-season engineering.

The first leg of the 2008 Miller Lite Cumberland Airport Autocross Series was no exception as familiar faces and surprise performances in the 179-entry field combined to set the bar for the Cumberland Airport's upcoming season.

On Saturday, a chilly morning and shaky rain forecast led to a guessing game for best choice among four run groups. Those who picked Group 2 or Group 3 guessed right. Cumberland's Matt Felten buried the field from his Group 2 starting position, with a scorching 44.609 second pass - a full second faster than the field. Then came surprises from three Virginia entries. Cobra driver John Hubbell continued his upward progress with the second fastest time, followed by the Lotus 7 variants of Gary Hughes and Jeff Duncan. Car chief John Felten snagged fifth in the same B Mod Reynard that secured FTD.

Hughes and Duncan kept right on marching to the front on Sunday. Gary Hughes captured the spot in his lightweight open wheeler powered by a supercharged Pontiac V6, edging Jeff Duncan by a quarter second. Capital Area Cobra Club stalwarts Larry Casey and Wade Chamberlain were third and fourth fastest. Cumberland's Greg Honeycutt used the weekend to methodically shake down his rebuilt Reynard, working his way up to fifth place overall by Sunday.

The weekend's double winners in contested classes included Phil Overly (BS Nissan), Alan Pozner (GS Honda), Alex Redding (HS MBG), Joe Oxenham (ESP Mustang), Gary Hughes (EM Bruton Stalker), Paul Pryzborski (ST BMW), Mike Moran (SM Subaru) and Mike McCagh (SM2 Farm Use Corvette).

Local single-day winners in contested classes included Gary Miller (Sunday SS Corvette), Steve Hotchkiss (Saturday AS Corvette), Larry Zajdel (Sunday, DS Audi), Bill Nyga (Saturday BSP Corvette), Doug Macy (Saturday DSP Audi), Dave Williams (Saturday DP Porsche), Steve Lutz (Sunday DP Porsche), Matt Felten (Saturday BM Reynard) and Greg Honeycutt (Sunday BM Reynard).

Local drivers in the Saturday Top 25 were Matt Felten 1st, John Felten 5th, Honeycutt 9th, Miller 15th, Tink Phillips (XP Daytona) 16th, Bill Nyga 18th, Karl Loper (SM Camaro) 19th, McCagh 20th, Steve Wilson (ASP Porsche) 21st, Ken Bane (SM Mustang) 23rd, Barry Knotts (XP Cobra) 24th and Joe Oxenham 25th.

Sunday Top 25 local drivers included Honeycutt 5th, John Felten 8th, Miller 10th, Knotts 11th, Loper 13th, Phillips 15th, Bane 17th, Hotchkiss 18th, McCagh 20th, Nyga 21st, Oxenham 22nd and Pete Harrison (AS Honda) 24th.

Complete results and schedule information can be found on-line at

React to this story:



Recommended for you