SHORT GAP, W.Va. — Roger Walker, director of the Frankfort High School marching band, will be inducted into the West Virginia Marching Band Directors Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Walker is one of five band directors that will be inducted by the West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History during the eighth annual West Virginia Birching Band Invitational at the University of Charleston’s Laidley Field.

Walker is in his 20th year as director of the Falcon Marching Band. Under his tutelage, the band has performed in two consecutive presidential inaugural parades — for Donald Trump in 2017 and Barack Obama in 2013 — and have consistently earned superior ratings at its region’s Concert Adjudication Festival.

Other honorees include Debra Price, director of the Paden City High School marching band; A. Keith Reed, director of the Morgantown High School marching band; Gary Stewart, former director of the Point Pleasant High School marching band; and the late Dale Riley, former director of the Hurricane High School marching band.

The Frankfort band will perform about 8:15 p.m. Saturday, with Walker’s induction to follow.

Walker is the second Mineral County band director to be inducted into the hall of fame in the past two years.

Richard Frush, retired director of the Keyser High School marching band, was inducted in 2017. He led the band for 33 years and retired in 2005.

React to this story:


Recommended for you